Two Days In Appalachia

Two days in Appalachia changed my perspective on what is important–rather, it reminded me what was important. When the only thing you hear is wind, birds, streams and the conversation of friends and loved ones, then the rage is real when you hear the blight of our polluted culture.

I am going to move there. I will live and work in the country. I will enjoy thinking again. I will fly airplanes for a wage, share-crop for food and exercise and write the computer code that I want to write and relearn mathematics and physics. I will teach myself electricity, statistics and Latin. I will create a ‘maker-space’, seed library, tool library.

I will smile.

I will not surround myself with the uncouth and uncivilized, the small and mean, the twisted and foul.

I will have fun.

I will pray and listen to God. You can hear Him there, in Appalachia.

Update: cat pics.

Posted on May 19, 2012, in cultural, familial. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

