Realtek 8187b on Slackware 12.0–the trilogy

Ok, not a trilogy, just a blog post and probably many others as I figure this out.

My Toshiba laptop has a Realtek wireless card. I boot windoze and can get online, but I am new to wireless on linux.

I have installed some drivers, and the kernel sees and loads the card.

I have been doing some casual research during breaks and have found out about some wireless extensions for linux–commands like iwconfig, iwspy, iw…whatever.

I can see my card with them.

Now I have bumped into something called wpa_whatever.

I can, with its various commands seen networks that I have connected to with windoze–the network I am connected to as I type this, for instance.

What I am trying to do now is to “log in” and have failed so far.

I will hack at it till I figure it out and post a summary.

__s_i_m_p_l_y__t_i_m_o_t_h_y__

Posted on April 28, 2008, in programattical, surferdudeable. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

