Maynard Ferguson RIP

I recently discovered pandora.com and was broadsided by a beloved memory.

I had my “Buddy Rich” channel playing, I was cruising the blogs when it hit…Maynard Ferguson’s rendition of “Eli’s Coming.” Suddenly, at 44, I was 15; the tune still cranked–I was out of my chair, prancing and head bobbing like a white boy who can’t dance (sorta like me (: )

I felt joy–my joy–the joy that a jazz lover knows…

What happiness.

What memories….
“Country Road”
“MacArthur Park”
“Conquistador”
“The Way We Were”

Maynard Ferguson, your music is a blessing to me.

God Bless you and Rest In Peace.

__s_i_m_p_l_y__t_i_m_o_t_h_y__

Posted on August 26, 2006, in jazzical, musical. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

