Sentences I love…

Today’s post over at Anne’s Food brought a smile to my–of late, dour–face,

I’m not a huge fan of raisins, but I couldn’t resist picking up a large bag of these green wonders when I bumped into them at Hötorgshallen

Now, what made this Florida boy smile was “Hötorgshallen”; put simply, I have no idea what one is, and I am reluctant to look it up to see what it is, because it is soooooo funny looking!

I don’t want to know how to pronounce it because of the possiblilities for alliteration and obliteration!

If I ever want to get out of a date, I can whisper, “I would love to see your “hot-orgs-shellin! along with your rasins!” (yes, if course I would duck!) hee! hee!

When my Jewish friends say, “Shalom” I can say back, “Hotorgshallen!” (have a raisin!)

Sorry, to be so giddy, but I love lines like this.

Here are two other sentences that I remember off-hand that affect me the same way…

“The rose room bled light” from F. Scott Fitzgerald –The Great Gatsby (?)

“In the winter of my twenty second year, I set out alone on horseback to slay a pack of wolves” from Anne Rice–The Vampire Lestat.

“After many a summer, dies the swan” frm Aldous Huxley (ok, a title, but still a sentence)

“We’ve got BOTH kinds, country AND western!” –from Animal House.

“That such a slave as this should bear a sword who …”–Kent “King Lear” (another man’s man, btw)

Now I have, “I’m not a huge fan of raisins, but I couldn’t resist picking up a large bag of these green wonders when I bumped into them at Hötorgshallen”

Ah, Hotorgshallen, Hotorgshallen wherefore art though Hotorgshallen? “Here I is!” (Buckwheat)

T.

Posted on March 3, 2006, in comical, gastronomical. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

